My latest haven- my very own blog

blogging-645219_640

The whole concept of blogging and the bloggers’ world used to intimidate me. I never thought of myself competent enough to comment on a blog post, let alone have my own blog. But it has been my long-time wish to give a right platform for my written work.

I used to scribble down stuff which I felt worth penning down . I had tried various forms of recording my written pieces; journals, diary entries, scrapbooks, had even tried my hand at developing a website when I was introduced to web development. But I was never satisfied with the end result. Sometimes I used to wonder whether there was really any point in writing when there is no scope of becoming a published writer. And to create something that other people felt worth reading is a Herculean feat indeed. Harbouring so many insecurities, doubts, trepidation and hesitation, I picked up the courage to create my own blog.

I don’t claim to write well, or give my opinions on trending contemporary issues, which contribute to the voice of the public. Nor do I think I’m insightful and perceptive enough to recount touching and motivating stories. When I don’t have proper content to deliver and entertain readers, I felt it is a waste of time to upload whatever I had written.

I came to the startling realization that I was actually seeking appraisal when I should be introspecting on the real reason I wanted to write. Putting my thoughts to words and on paper has proved to be therapeutic at various occasions, effectively boosting my self-esteem. In fact, I discovered more about myself when I kept writing, my hidden desires, fears, aspirations, values. All those emotions and ideas that kept swimming like fish under the surface of water, but unable to reveal themselves. Moreover it is always possible to improve and clear defects in writing when consistently worked on.

When I finally became an official blogger, another fact was revealed to me. The best way to learn more about writing is by reading what other people have written on their own blogs, which becomes easier for a blogger. I found myself getting a wealth of information and reading fine poetry and narratives from people’s blogs more than magazines or other newsprint.

In the four months in the blogging community, I feel I have gained many new acquaintances and connections, which was literally impossible before. It is heartening to be around like-minded people sharing common interests and outlook.It is the perfect way to while away my leisure time and quit lazing around. Nowadays whenever I’m emotionally hit, I feel my feelings satiated only after jotting a few words related to the episode. I tend to scrawl words on a paper scrap during monotonous tasks where I don’t need to rake my brains at all. I feel inspired to fine-tune what I have written and post it. And I have been overwhelmed with the responses and likes from my fellow bloggers. I feel like I have finally got home, receiving the acknowledgement that I’ve always yearned for, but never losing track of the original pleasure I derive from expressing my innermost feelings through the written word.

Having a blog actually motivates me to write at regular intervals. It’s ironic that I had to seek a pusher to help me do what I love. Earlier, there were times during the day when I was at my wits end to entertain myself. Now in the midst of the cacophony of the kids at home and blaring TV sounds, I’m contently typing at my keypad, oblivious to the ruckus around.

This post is written for Indispire prompt 114. #IAmABlogger

~ Fahima Yousouf

9 thoughts on “My latest haven- my very own blog

  1. Super..oh kulainthakal iruka appo kalyanam akiduchu… I’m in blogging for five years.. So much to go… Still I’m finding new things everyday… rompa santhosam intha post padithathil
    இது ரொம்ப அருமை

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment