​Book Review #15 The Day I Stopped Drinking Milk by Sudha Murthy 

Title: The Day I Stopped Drinking Milk
Author: Sudha Murthy
Publication date: 2012
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780143418658
Genre: Inspirational

I used to be a lover of short story collections as a child. The idea of a central plot expressed in few pages had appealed to me. But lately, I’ve not been so fond of them, having shifted to long novels. I guess the reason is that anthologies don’t drive me to complete reading the book at a stretch as opposed to a 300-500 page fiction.  I was pleasantly surprised to discover this wasn’t the case when I picked this book.

I realised I was quite impressed with Sudha Murthy when I started browsing YouTube for videos on her discourses. For a fact, her simplicity and genuinity get reflected in her writing, persuading one to pick up her book. I readily recommend her books to youngsters who are looking for a casual and beneficial read.

This book is a collection of her real-life experiences in various places and circumstances in India. I took my time to complete this book at a leisurely pace, as I wanted to reflect on the theme behind each story. Each of the chapters here are an illustration of simple life-truths and are subtle enough not to impose as moral stories. The title story is just one of the twenty odd anecdotes and most of them are quite enjoyable.

This book set me off with a desire to read more of her works and try out her full-length novels in the near future.

~ Fahima Yousouf

Leave a comment