Microtale #5 Acknowledgement

“A mere half-hour away from my lunch date,” I thought, as I glanced at my watch. I stacked the strewn notebooks and set the dustbin upright. I picked up my handbag and stepped out of the classroom.

As I parked my car in front of the fancy restaurant, I knew I was miserably late, having caught every red signal on the way. It was the family’s annual reunion, and all my relatives would be there. As usual, my father would bestow laurels on my lawyer brother and doctor sister. It was no secret that I was the black sheep of the family. I had dragged myself through school and was basically incompetent.

Bracing myself, I steered towards the faces I could recognize. I slipped silently into an empty chair, looking away to avoid my dad’s reprimanding stare. As I was squirming in my seat, I was startled by a tug on my skirt. I turned to see Shelly, one of my students, ushered by an impeccably dressed lady.

“Hi, Miss Summers, I’m Shelly’s mom, Mrs Robinson”, she said, extending her hand. “Shelly says you are so sweet and loves you a lot. I’m so glad to finally meet you. Other moms in Shelly’s class too have shared with me that you are a fantastic kindergarten teacher,” she said, animatedly. I lovingly rubbed Shelly’s back. I turned my attention to the table and realized all my relatives were watching me. The impossible had happened; I was now the center of attention.

My entry for #Microsecret on Sweek

~ Fahima Yousouf

.

Leave a comment